Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

by Joanne

Hi,

I'm new in the training program and I have a question. They tell me that they are putting "CRONIS" machines in each terminal and that new most employees will swipe my pass whenever I get to a terminal where I change trains on my collector assignments.

They said when I finish at a terminal I may have to go back to my starting point to swipe in or I will be shorted pay. They siad I didn't have to go back but then I would only be paid to the last swipe station. Do older collectors and conductors have to go back to their start-out terminals even though they don't have to swipe? They also told me that motormen dont have to swipe there passes. If they dont have to punch into terminals how does bosses know that they are there?

Maybe someone with more experience can answer some o f my questions. I used to work at a bank where we never had to punch a timeclock and Im new to all this stuff.

Joanne :)
Last edited by Joanne on Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by geico

Its called KRONOS and its basically a computerized & networked time clock.

by RetiredLIRRConductor

Joanne, at this time we do not have to swipe in or out. I doubt very much they would put that in place for Conductors or Assistant Conductors, or collectors. It just would not be practical. There are too many service disruptions when we are sent all over the railroad, and it would not be practical to make us come back to our original terminal. We do not have to swipe in anywhere. To acsess the trainmans room in NY, there is a place to swipe your pass to get in the door, but usually that is disabled, or if it works usually one person will swipe the pass, and a whole group will go in. I guess the powers that be might try it down the line, but right now it is not being done.

by Joanne

They told us our class will be probably be the first to have to use these.