• Viewliner II Delivery/Production

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by amtrakhogger

i can't wait.
  by Gilbert B Norman

ApproachMedium wrote:.The old viewsleepers will need to be totally rebuilt anyhow so maybe after that is done.
Mr.Approach, is there any report that they will still move forward with the apparent plan to rebuild the existing V-I fleet with the V-II configuration?

Or did that plan "get lost" during the move from 60 to One?

I haven't been near a Viewliner in about twelve years, so I would think "they'd be ready for a makeover". I have no knowledge if the two damaged at Cayce have been returned to service, or if the Legal Beagles have them tied up indefinitely, but that would have been a good place to start.
  by ApproachMedium

The two cars damaged in SC are under wraps in Bear DE along with the 188 cars, 89 cars, and the Vermonter wreck. They finally got clearance to rebuild the Vermonter cars and put them back in service, and the 89 cars except the first car because I think that may have frame damage from the impact. Hopefully the return of these cars can provide amtrak the needed cars to bring back 181 and 198. Two trains MUCH needed as the train 90 disaster continues to be just that, a disaster.

The viewsleepers are shot. Shot. They have ride quality problems over 80-90mph, the interiors have seen their time. I havnt seen one come out of 5 year overhaul in a while probably because they all have been cycled thru. Nothing i have heard about the overhaul of the cars to bring them to v2 spec. Either way, you cant do an interior refurb/upgrade to V2 interiors and modules without having any new view2s on the property to replace the outgoing cars.
  by R36 Combine Coach