Discussion relating to the operations of MTA MetroNorth Railroad including west of Hudson operations and discussion of CtDOT sponsored rail operations such as Shore Line East and the Springfield to New Haven Hartford Line

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, nomis, FL9AC, Jeff Smith

by JoeG

Otto,
You're knocking down a straw man here. Neither I nor (most other) posters are saying money should be wasted on something that will wash away in the next big storm. I am not a civil engineer. But I do know that other railroads have made much faster progress in repairing massive washouts. The MTA seems to have no sense of urgency. I guess the Lackawanna in 1955 did have a sense of urgency, and I never read that the work had to be done over.(The Lackawanna was broke and knew the work would have to last.) Fixing washouts is not rocket science. If the MTA insisted on speed I'm sure that, with modern computers, the consultants could have design drawings, etc much faster than in 1955. As far as issues with the Ramapo River, the state announced at the beginning of this that permitting requirements would be suspended, so the MN/MTA could just get to work.
They are not designing an airliner or a space shuttle or a nuclear reactor. Perfectly fine railroads were laid out with levels, transits and compasses. With modern lasers, gps, etc, the process should only be faster.

But not when the MTA is involved. After all, they only this week opened the Cortlandt St subway station...after how long?
  by uzplayer

blockline4180 wrote:Uzplayer,

I actually think MTA is playing politics here, and they may be looking for more money from the Feds.... However, I don't think the 2nd track is in the plans.

Perhaps I'm wrong.. However, IMHO this line won't be in service until at least January or February the earliest, which in my mind is unacceptable!