• Tightening up MNRR New Haven Line

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by Rockingham Racer

I'm putting this topic here, because it has a direct effect on Amtrak. Perhaps the answer to the question has been stated already, but is there a way
to get shorter headways on the New Haven Line? I'm no expert in signaling, so don't flame me.

I ask, because Amtrak could probably used a few more slots as the plan for Inland Route trains comes to fruition.
  by DutchRailnut

no not unless you shorten signal blocks (more trains but less speed)
or make them longer, (higher speeds but less trains)
  by mtuandrew

DutchRailnut wrote:no not unless you shorten signal blocks (more trains but less speed)
or make them longer, (higher speeds but less trains)
What about multi-block advance signals with shorter blocks? It'd be worth it to Amtrak, even if M-N doesn't need them.
  by DutchRailnut

your still basically lengthening block , but with more indications, and it will cut down on amount of trains that can be handled.
  by F-line to Dudley via Park

The best you can do for the New Haven Line is getting it up to full state-of-repair. Fix the bridges, knock out a couple deferred maint speed restrictions, increase the reliability of the signaling and electrical, etc. Because the signal density is what it is and Metro North mixes so many expresses with locals that there's never clear passing tracks to rev up AMTK speed except on the far off-peak, state-of-repair is the best you can do. But it matters...a lot. Raw speed isn't nearly as much a quality/quantity of service limiter as on-time performance. The more reliable an OTP they can achieve, the more trains they get to run and the less they have to over-pad the schedules for when they clear New Haven, which will bleed minutes off the schedules.