Railroad Forums 

• $5000.00? CSX Training

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#148195  by Guest

And I don't think that knuckle weighs 80lbs either!

-r
 #148240  by jg greenwood

NASHVILLE-NEWBIE wrote:Dear Mr. UPRR Engineer,

I am in my third week of conductor school at AMDG. Being a newbie I don't have anything to compare it to. All I can tell you is that I went to about 5 hiring sessions for Norfolk Southern in the last year. I arrived at least 2 hours early at every session and there was a line already waiting to get in. They advertize in my local paper and maybe 200 peolple show up for 5 or 6 jobs.

As far as AMDG goes I am really glad that I made the choice to attend this school. The two retired CSX employees that are our instructors have over 80 years between them-------they have some funny stories along with some great knowledge. For all you guys and gals who think you have to tote a 80 lb knuckle from the engine back 4500 feet to a car let me tell you that is wrong----you will be taught how to perform work safely and without killing yourself.

I am in school with 10 guys who are going to Nashville and we have 35 more coming in the next 2 months-----you talk about instant senority.

Thanks,

Nashville-Newbie
The ex CSX employees, any of them from Etowah, TN.? If so, you're fortunate!

#148386  by CSX Conductor

razor wrote:And I don't think that knuckle weighs 80lbs either!

-r
Actually, I thought they were 90 lbs.

#148396  by Guest

Thanks David for participating with that engaging and humors anecdote.

-r

#148400  by UPRR engineer

Ya thanks David, id like to see my super put a knuckle back in.... id go into detail but i better not lol :wink:
 #148544  by NASHVILLE-NEWBIE