Railroad Forums 

• Southcoast Rail

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

#645667  by jonnhrr

I second what Tom said. This project was already hard to justify even with Diesel traction. I suspect the only reason the project is being considered at all is ude to politics.

Jon
 #646618  by trainhq

Now, now, now! As an ex-transit consultant, I can tell you that some studied projects actually get built!
But, it won't be FR-NB, and not any time soon. This football has been kicked around for 20 years; it'll be another
20 before anything gets done,if ever.
 #646645  by bierhere

TomNelligan wrote:
Triker wrote:Another study, study after study, after dumb study, what the hell do they acomplish?
They guarantee long-term state employment to consultants! You wouldn't want those poor guys to have to get real jobs, would you? Seriously, I couldn't agree more with your point. Massachusetts wastes millions of our tax dollars on these study things because it's built into the political culture.

And speaking of waste, at $1.4 billion for 6,300 daily customers, that's a construction cost of over $222,000 per rider even before you get into operating subsidies. I'd put the money (if it really appears) into transit projects that would benefit more people, like the Green Line extension beyond Lechmere.
Its actually worst than 1.4 billion for 6300. Its only 2500 new riders if you read the documents. That makes it more like 700,000 per new rider.
 #646870  by TomNelligan

diburning wrote:Yes, but these riders ride daily. Dividing the dollar amount by the number of riders doesn't make sense since it would be assuming that the "daily riders" only ride once and never ride again.