• Report it to CSX?

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New York State.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New York State.

Moderator: Otto Vondrak

by nydepot

I was sitting at Coldwater Rd crossing yesterday (in traffic) and noticed the westbound track on the west side of the crossing really moving up and down. Like...a lot moving up and down, more than I've ever seen before on a track.

I checked it out later on and saw that the ballast has slid away and there a mudhole there. I don't know if there is an official term for this but it's one of those places where water has seeped in and saturated the soil. When it rains and a train goes over the spot, mud shoots all over covering everything. With the soil gone, the ballast settles. I've seen them before but this one seems extreme.

So the train comes off the crossing and immediately bumps down and then bumps up. Just eyeballing it seemed like 3 inches of movement but I'm no expert.

The train I saw was a westbound empty autorack and although I like waiting at a crossing for a train to go by, this time I was ready for evasive action in case something happened. Although, I probably couldn't react fast enough if something did happen.

Anyway, should I report it to CSX or not? Seems like a bad spot for a passenger train or fast TV train or something.

I've heard lots of back and forth on this list about CSX hating it when people call in.

Charles

by scottychaos

I think it should be reported, but not necessarily to CSX..
that would be like reporting a bully to the bully, instead of the principal..
so who is the "principal" in this case?
I dont know..
Elliot Spitzer's office perhaps?
he is becoming the new "Ralph Nader" it seems..
"Mr. public safety"
usually I find him annoying, but in this case his office would probably jump on this and get something done!