• Northeast storm and Amtrak operations (was: Nor'easter)

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by gprimr1

I'm reading on the news that American has canceled 300 flights into New York. How is the NEC doing? The Maple Leaf is currently at US Customs but the crew has said Amtrak hasn't said anything about any unusual delays.
  by Tom Curtin

I should probably shut up since I am not an aviation professional, but . . . here I sit in our Manhattan apartment looking across the Hudson at New Jersey. I can see NJ --- barely, but I can see it. I have gone out (on foot) to do errands twice today. I got wet. Big deal. Frankly folks, it doesn't look that bad. It's raining but not outrageously. The wind is said to be 9 knots gusting to 22 which is not outrageous either. It certainly doesn't look to me like conditions ripe for the cancellation of 300 flights by one carrier.

What I think we have here is: the meteorological media have been describing this storm for a couple of days with their finely honed sense of drama and doom, and have succeeded in getting everybody worked up into a frenzy

by gprimr1

The rain has caused a few phantom trains near Rochester. We had to go on the westbound main because they thought there was a train in front of us and we could overtake it, but it was just a short.
  by sixty-six