• Septa airport line and advanced purchase?

• Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.
Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.

Moderator: AlexC

by barciur

Hello
I am not very experienced with SEPTA so I just want to clarify something. I know that the Zone 4 ticket costs $6.50 advanced purchase and $8.00 on board. The Philly airport website states that
" Fare: $8.00 one way to the following convenient stops (an additional fare is required for connections to other SEPTA regional rail lines)"
I assume this is just to simplify that when you board, you will pay $8.00, correct? I will be picking up a friend at the airport via rail and I thought I'd just buy him a ticket at 30th street station to save the hassle (and $1.50!). Can I do that?
  by MichaelBug

You are correct. There is no SEPTA ticket sales location at the airport, so most inbound passengers would have to pay the $8 onboard fare. But, you can certainly buy a ticket at 30th Street ahead of time. Why give SEPTA more money than you have to?

Also, will you be transferring to another Regional Rail line?
  by the sarge

MichaelBug wrote:You are correct. There is no SEPTA ticket sales location at the airport, so most inbound passengers would have to pay the $8 onboard fare. But, you can certainly buy a ticket at 30th Street ahead of time. Why give SEPTA more money than you have to?