Railroad Forums 

• UP (Fort Steele) history question from an author

• Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.
Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.

Moderator: GOLDEN-ARM

#1635218  by EricMoskowitz

Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this question, but I'm a writer working on a narrative nonfiction book about a cross-country auto race in 1909 that Ford cheated to win as a way to market the new Model T. One of the key scenes occurred at the Union Pacific crossing of the North Platte River in Fort Steele, Wyo. I'm trying to visualize that location and learn more about the UP operations at that site at that moment in time, and I'm wondering if anyone here might have insight or might otherwise be able to point me to a good source (museum, historian, digital archive, the right book or pamphlet, another forum, etc.) who could help.

To elaborate: the race ran from NYC to Seattle, with the finish line at that year's World's Fair (Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition). Once they got to Wyoming, the racers more or less paralleled the Union Pacific main line from Cheyenne to Granger, then followed the Oregon Short Line into Idaho.

Approaching Fort Steele, a relative-underdog entry called the Shawmut found itself with an unlikely lead over the rest of the field two weeks into the race (6/14/1909), particularly two Model Ts that had been leading most of the way across the country. The Shawmut crew had picked up a good guide in Laramie (Elmer Lovejoy, a Wyoming automotive pioneer) who planned to take them all the way to Rawlins, then hop the train back. Lovejoy knew that the wagon bridge at Fort Steele had recently washed out but that the UP bridge tender was letting motorists who came through (and there weren't many in those days) bump along the ties over the railroad bridge as an interim means of crossing the river.