Railroad Forums 

• Dunkirk/Fredonia -signal lit

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New York State.
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New York State.

Moderator: Otto Vondrak

#1591201  by SST

When traveling on the NYS Thruway (I-90) and passing over the RR track I always look for signs of movement. Never got lucky.

Last week I headed down to Fredonia to watch a basketball game and traveled the local streets where Vineyard St crosses the track. It was dark. As I approached the crossing and being a good driver, I looked both ways before crossing and was taken by surprised to see a westbound signal (yellow) lit. Totally unexpected. No signs of movement and all covered with snow.

Is this track still taking deliveries?

A couple of pictures both looking west.

I just bought this new XR iPhone and expected better pictures than my 5c. Disappointed.
 #1591213  by TrainDetainer

That signal is the Approach Signal for the NS diamond and would be approach lit. I don't know about traffic on the branch, but the salt and ice in the crossing is probably shunting the circuit, causing the signal to light up.

I too am very dissatisfied with the Xr photo ability. They advertised the X as having a great camera but I had old flip-phones that took better pictures - and at 1/10th the price. I hesitate to recommend Apple products to anyone now, except when I'm POed at Microsoft when their junk is acting up.
 #1591228  by charlie6017

Looking at recent Google aerial views and street views, it doesn't look like Fieldbrook Foods (just to the south of the NS diamond) is getting rail service. Truck trailers are sitting there encroaching on the spur. The end of track just north of E. Main St. (US 20) looks bereft of customers as well.

Sadly, it wouldn't shock me to see this industrial track torn up. I believe it's part of the original Erie route from 1851 that terminated at Lake Erie in Dunkirk.

Charlie
 #1592188  by umtrr-author