• CR on the Southern Secondary

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey

Moderator: David

by RailsEast

Harry, you are not completely wrong in your views. I am a small business owner as well, since 4/1/82. Yes, I would, and have, dismissed employees for dereliction of duty.
I have also worked (well, volunteered with full FRA safety class training) on a shortline which is now part of the C&D family of lines for the past 8 years.
Railroad life is very different. The NORAC rule book which governs all Class 1 railroads, and many roads who interchange with them like the C&D system, is extraordinarily complex. So complex that, in my very realistic dream of becoming a bona fide railroad conductor, I realized that I could not combine my business responsibilities with my dream.
I stand in awe of railroad engineers and conductors who adhere to the book. The training for these positions is very intense.
I have always said to anyone willing to listen... "volunteer on a railroad, no matter your position or responsibility; get your hands dirty".
Dirty hands are good for the soul....

Chris
  by Hear my train a coming

Sirsonic wrote: Fri Aug 20, 2021 4:46 pm

You don't know why a crew stops at a certain location. You don't know the rules we operate under, the requirements of our jobs, the endless regulations we are required to not only be thoroughly conversant with but also comply with without exception. You are not included in the communications that we have with our supervisors, support staff, and co-workers. You don't know.
You expressed what I was trying to say, more politely than I did. I am not a railroader, but I hate when people badmouth others whose situations they know nothing about.
  by Hear my train a coming