• How did push-pull work with the old equipment?

• Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.
Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

by thrdkilr

How did the old push pull trians work? Specifically the FA/S-3, like the ones on the Oyster Bay line in the 70's. Did the FA provide heat, power to the coaches? Were there controls for the S-? in the FA, were they added or was the old controls for multible units used? Did the traction motors work in the FA, were they even installed? How are the new DE/C3's diferent? Thanks in advance.....Mac

by Lirr168

Although I don't know much about the older push/pulls (all of these units were retired long before I started riding the rails), I can say with some certainty that the FA units did not have traction motors. As far as I know, they were control cabs only; the power was provided by another locomotive, often an MP15AC.

I know for sure, however, that the DE/DM's act as the sole power supply for their consists. The C-3 at the opposite end is only a control cab.

by timz

As I recall the cab units did provide HEP. We're all agreed they provided no traction power.

by DutchRailnut

to put it simple the FA's and F's were overweight cab cars not producing revenue.
Only thing they did other than playing cab car was they had the HEP unit in them.

by Nasadowsk

Push pull is exactly what it sounds like - in one direction the locomotive pushes, in the other, it pulls. The cab car at the end did nothing. I wonder why the LIRR never just put cab controls in the old MP cars as they demotyored them, and bought HEP locomotives...
  by kro52

Greetings All,