Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

by Paul

In another thread, a statement was made about engine horsepower and that it would not produce full horsepower for a small light train. This is incorrect.

The engine will produce full horespower for the thottle setting selected. The load regulator does not bring the alternator load up until the engine has reached the RPM for the desired thottle position. At 100% LR at 100% horsepower the locomotive will accelerate until the feed back current from the traction motors equalizes with the alternator output. This the the top speed of the traction motor (excluding physical limitations of the armature etc). When this is reached, the engine will still try to produce horsepower to overcome the feedback which it can't.

by DutchRailnut

ok Paul now explain it for a AC locomotive, and engine RPM has nothing to do with HP.

by Paul

I am not an electrician, and I am not up to snuff on this AC stuff yet. but I do have an enquiring mind and I will talk with someone who is in the know and post a responce.
My next thought is how does engine rpm NOT affect horsepower? Do you think an EMD 12-710 engine could develop 3000 hp at idle (320 rpm)? If you are talking about a constant rpm engine, then horsepower would be controlled though excitation of the alternator for a given thottle position. Union Pacific tried this several years ago where the engine ran at a constant 902 rpm and locomotive speed was contolled by the excitaion system (like what GE does with the P units in hotel mode). All it did was wear out some 16 cylinder engines prematurely. BTY, I once got 3700hp out of a 12-710 on "load test 2" and bringing up the rpm to manually trip the overspeed. Alco took the 1800hp 12-251 to 2000 hp by raising the rpm to 1050rpm, early EMD 645s were rated around 800+ rpm.

by bluebelly