• Fitchburg Route, Hastings, Silver Hill

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by cpf354

Ok, just for background, I've been riding the Fitchburg Route on and off for several decades, since the B&M and shiny NEW Budd Cars, so I'm not a newbie. That being said, why, oh why, are there still stops, one at a crossing, the other in the middle of the woods, at Hastings and Silver Hill, and even more amazingly, why on Fitchburg trains! I rode out of town last night on the 735pm departure. The train was scheduled to make every stop on the route. If you look at the figures, it's incredible. It's 16 miles from North Station to Lincoln. In that stretch, there are 8 stops. The following 16 miles from Lincoln to Littleton/495 there are 4. One thing I've noticed about the Fitchburg is that South Acton local service is gradually being replaced by Fitchburg service. I think there's a real need, just for capacity purposes, to have dedicated local service back and forth to South Acton. These trains should be the one that stop at the less used intermediate stops, rather than the Fitchburg trains.

by PraiseX6

I think they are going to disable some of those stations and fix up that line.

It's right now.. such a long trip and not all the stations are needed.

by sery2831

I have always been told that those two stops have been saved by very vocal influential residents. Besides the passengers, us crews dislike the stops. Engineers especially since in the fall going inbound it's nearly impossible to stop without sliding by. I don't think these stops will be taking off the schedule anytime soon.