Discussion relating to the operations of MTA MetroNorth Railroad including west of Hudson operations and discussion of CtDOT sponsored rail operations such as Shore Line East and the Springfield to New Haven Hartford Line

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, nomis, FL9AC, Jeff Smith

by Amtrak7

Hudson, Harlem and New Haven Line service is currently stopped due to signal issues. Appropriate personnel are responding. We will provide additional details as they become available.
Alert was sent at 8:21pm.

Did RCC go down?
  by Saugatuck

I was on the train that got stopped last night outside Greens Farms.

I am on the 6:31 right now. Not a good scene.

I've been riding the New Haven line for 7 years. It has never been this bad, not even close. I used to listen in amazement as the old-timers spoke of how it was during the Penn Central years. Now I know first hand.

Seriously, love you MNRR but get your maintenance act together.
  by DutchRailnut

not just new haven, entire RR is down due to computer failure.
  by Saugatuck

Dutch! I know! That's great news! Now I feel much better! Thanks, dude!
  by DutchRailnut

at least trains have power , heat etc
  by MNCRR9000

I'm surprised with the occ renovation they did a while back that they don't have any backup systems for this type of situation. Don't they also have a backup OCC?
  by Saugatuck

Okay, since no one else seems aware that the emperor has no clothes, allow me to announce that...the emperor has no clothes.
This means that it appears, perhaps, that we are looking at systemic failure: failure to follow established safety procedures, failure to maintain equipment, infrastructure, and yes, yes, even software systems.
"Oh, but Saugatuck, these are just isolated incidents that could happen to any large, complex organization that must deal with old equipment, grouchy passengers, schlocky politicians, etcetera. This is not an indication of an organization in serious trouble. Not at all."