Railroad Forums 

• ABOUT PASSENGER INFORMATION SYSTEMS IN RAILWAY STATIONS

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

#81906  by rainman

I am searching for a document or article about the passenger information systems in railway stations. How should be or what are the standards of passenger information systems?

thanks in advance
 #148978  by vector_one75

While I can't help you with the sprcific info you seek, before I saw your thread I had posted a topic "Station Announcements: in this forum about any historically-preserved station departure announcements (cassette or CD?) and/or arrival board chalkboard calligraphy (photographs?) that anyone might have to share with. The two threads do go for a somewhat common topic so there may be mutual possibler results.

I am an engineer, and since 1983 have been in public transportation in Perth, Western Australia and while my direct involvement has been in road and other infrastructure facility design and traffic management for urban/suburban bus services (and to some degree our limited suburban rail service), I did play a role in the Perth City Busport project in 1989/90 where public information systems were incidental to my own personal work, so I have had a cursory involvement in that area, but not sufficiently versed to the degree that you appear to need. The Busport is a major "indoor" bus terminal of 5 platforms with overhead concourse and passenger amenities very similar to a major rail terminal.