Discussion relating to the operations of MTA MetroNorth Railroad including west of Hudson operations and discussion of CtDOT sponsored rail operations such as Shore Line East and the Springfield to New Haven Hartford Line

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, nomis, FL9AC, Jeff Smith

by TacSupport1

Since I didn't have a chance to edit my other thread to repose my question since the topic was quickly locked, I will ask it here. I apologize for making a duplicate thread. I would hope I would be able to particpate in the discussions, even though I am not that experienced yet.

Anyways,

How many of those blue Metro North work engines do they have, and what are the year(ish)/make/model? I travel the Harlem line, and have only seen 102, 103, and 104, (usually one rotates each week sitting in the (Melrose?) yard)?

Also, who pilots these work engines- the same engineers who operate the M series? Just detailed to work those?

If there's some reference where I can find this information, is anyone able to point me in the right direction?

by Otto Vondrak

The 100-series work engines are EMD GP35R's. The "R" indicates a rebuild by Conrail's Altoona shops in 1993, if I remember correctly. In 1983, Metro-North leased some B23-7's for ten years. When the lease was up, the GP35's were replacements. Paint scheme for the GP35's was designed by the late Rich Gladulich, an MN employee.

-otto-

by Clean Cab

The GP-35(R)s numbers are 101, 102, 103, 104, 105 and 106. A total of 6 untis to replace seven B23-7s (801 to 807). All were rebuilt by the Altoona Shops from various engines from several railroads to make space in the crowded Altoona Yard.

MN had the chance to purchase many more of the GP-35s, but elected to purchase only 6 of them. I believe that Amtrak purchased 4 of the same units as well, but classify them (I think) as GP-38s.

by Penn Central