Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.

Moderators: lensovet, Kaback9, nick11a

by jnewman

This week has been so bad for the morning commute that I've got to let off some steam.
I've been riding NJT regularly for more than 20 years, and I've been a daily commuter for eight years. And you know what, it seems that it's just been getting worse and worse lately.
Every day for the past week, something has gone wrong during my commute. Last Friday it was the switch problems in New York. Monday it was just plain ol' no excuses late. Tuesday I don't remember, it was frozen out of my mind. Wednesday, with the temperatures in the low teens, it was switch problems again. I stood on that bloody platform for 45 minutes, watching express trains go by. I made it to my morning class with less than 10 minutes to spare. Thursday it was the breakdown in New Brunswick, and we're thirty minutes late again. Oh, and let's not forget the low platform stop at Elizabeth during evening rush hour, with only one set of doors opened. Now this morning, 3830 had only 4 cars. It was so packed, I didn't even make the attempt to get on, so it was another 30 minutes in single digit temperatures this time! Wonderful.
And you know what the worst part is? Watching, every single day, the express trains whiz by with what appear to be relatively uncrowded cars. This morning I saw one go by that had, I'm fairly convinced, two COMPLETELY EMPTY cars out of six.
I'm willing to put up with a lot. I'm willing to deal with dirty floors. I'm willing to put up with non-functional toilets. I'm willing to put up with non-fuctional heat in the winter and non-functional air conditioning in the summer. I'm willing to put up with packed trains. But I'm tired of having to deal with routine massive delays. I'm tired of having to build an extra hour and a half into my morning commute plans, and having that extra 1.5 hours justified every other week.