• Milk service on the Middletown & Unionville

• This forum is for discussion of "Fallen Flag" roads not otherwise provided with a specific forum. Fallen Flags are roads that no longer operate, went bankrupt, or were acquired or merged out of existence.
This forum is for discussion of "Fallen Flag" roads not otherwise provided with a specific forum. Fallen Flags are roads that no longer operate, went bankrupt, or were acquired or merged out of existence.

Moderator: Nicolai3985

by wc8666a

Hello,

I am a history student at American University in Washington, DC. For my senior paper topic, I am writing on the Middletown & Unionville which served the rural farming communities outside of Middletown, NY. In my paper, I am focusing on the milk traffic over the M&U. I am arguing in my paper that the "M&U, mile for mile, hauled more milk than any other railroad in the United States" from 1929 - 1941. The reason for this distinction was because of this were numerous farms, cremaries, and condensaries located along this almost 15 mile line. As many of you know, the M&U connected with the Erie, Ontario & Western, and Susquahanna. I found out that the Susquehanna, because of the M&U which the Susquehanna leased until 1913, hauled the most milk on a mile per mile basis compared to the other railroads that provided milk service to New York City and the surrounding metropolitan region.