• Maximum HO grades for HO?

• Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.
Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.

Moderators: 3rdrail, stilson4283, Otto Vondrak

by j404

I'm just getting started with my first serious HO scale layout. I have lots of room and distance to cover on a G shaped table. What is the recommend hill grade for HO scale?

I'm planning at least 3-4 over/under passes and maybe even a spiral mountain climb in a 4x6 area. The table is a 4x8 connected to a a 2x4 connected to a 8x2 in a J config with and connected to a odd shaped 4x6 (if that makes any since at all).

Any advice out there?

by scottychaos

The recommended grade is "as small as possible!"! ;)

generally 1% is reasonable.
2% is doable but steep.
3% is too much, and will severely limit what you can run.

Scot

by Flat-Wheeler