• Has the MBTA Gotten "Boring"?

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by B&Mguy

This is something that I've been thinking about over the recent years as I have been a Boston area resident for my whole life. It seems that in the mid to late 1990's, when I was doing most of my active MBTA railfanning, the system had lots of interesting quirks and historical items to explore. Things that in many cases no longer exist, or have been modernized so they don't have the same level of appeal. I now am a daily MBTA rider to get to work, but it seems that the MBTA that captivated me as a teenager no longer seems to do it anymore.

Specific examples:

Not nearly as much interesting Green Line work equipment to see. I remember seeing the PCC wire car, "Cheesebox" wire car and Type 3 Snowplow while just riding the D Line.

Watertown A Line tracks are long gone, and very little evident remains

Arborway E Line is slowly disappearing too. Line was fully intact in 1990s.

All Green Line Rollsigns are LED, eliminated random Watertown, Arborway and Mattapan sightings

Extensive station modernization as all but eliminated sightings of vintages maps, etc.

Fantrips can now longer visit obscure locations as they no longer exisit. Very few "rare milage" places to go on system.

I'm sure a lot of this stems from being younger then, and the system being more unkown and mysterious, but I still feel like there's not nearly as much of interest on the MBTA that there was twenty years ago.

Any other long time MBTA riders feel this way?
  by Charliemta

The passing of the Orange Line elevated lines, replaced with boring ground level/depressed lines, ramped up the boredom factor a lot for me, and I suspect many others. The elevated lines were vibrant and exciting.
  by dieciduej