• Green Line Specs?

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by lws1976

Hello,

I am new to this form and am working on a expansion set for a game called Transport Tycoon (see http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=24055).

I was wondering if anyone here knows the specifications (capacity, top speed, HP, weight, etc.) of these vehicles:
Type 5 Trolley
PCC
LRV
Type 7
Type 8

Red Line 01800
Red Line 01700/01600
Red Line 01400

Orange Line 01200
Orange Line 01100

Blue Line 0600
Blue Line 0500

Thanks,
Lewis

by AEM7AC920

by Otto Vondrak

Lewis- those are a lot of questions, and we dont even know you, Why dont you tell us where you have looked first, then we can give you some better answers.

-otto-

by lws1976

Sorry otto.

I have checked the NETransit site before I came here, and that helped, as did the link from AEM7AC920, for which I thank you. However, my googling has not turned up much information.

by typesix

Partial info on some of the older cars:

Type 5: 100hp, 30K lbs, 25 mph
PCC: 220 hp, 40k lbs, 42 mph, 142 passengers
01400: 400hp, 70k lbs, almost 300 passengers
01100: 400hp, 59k lbs
0500(1951): 220 hp, 48k lbs, 45 mph

by -Garrett

The Type 5 only went up to 25mph?
Goodness, weren't those cars in use up until the early 60's?

Traffic must really have changed a lot in Boston since then!

by typesix

The Type 5 only gets in the way on the Riverside line. During fantrips the car would immediately follow a regular service car if leaving Riverside so as not to slow down service.

by Leo Sullivan

The type five was designed for low speed mixed traffic and the top speed (actually 28MPH) exceeded the highway speed limit wherever they ran.
the emphasis of the performance design was fast acceleration with a relatively low horsepower. large doors and a semi-lowfloor configuration