• Engineer? Fireman?

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

by NellsChoo

Hi all

OK, I have been learning about railroading since about 2003, and I STILL don't know what you call the "crew". I assume one is an engineer, but is the other still a "fireman"?

Just what are the two people who sit in the cab and run the train these days?

ALSO, who sits on which side of the cab?

Jonelle

by metman499

The current standard road crew is an engineer and a conductor. A locomotive is divided up into the engineer's side and the fireman's side. This is a holdover from the days of steam when there would be a five man crew. Enginer, fireman, and front brakeman in the loco and a conductor and rearbrake in the caboose. The engineer (who sits on the engineer's side) is generally on the left side of the locomotive if you are looking at the short hood. In units set up with the long hood as the front and you are looking down the long hood from the front they are also on the left side. Edit: The conductor sits on the oposite side as will a brakeman if riding in the cab (and assuming there are more than two total seats which isn't always the case).
  by TB Diamond