• Costs of shipping by rail vs. truck?

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

by porkfriedrice

Hopefully I am posting this in the correct forum. I am a newbie, so my apologies for asking something previously addressed or for ignorance. What is the cost savings for shipping via rail versus shipping via truck? I'm not talking about long-haul class 1 railroads, I can see how they are cost effective. I live in CT an am thinking of Providence and Worcester, Connecticut Southern, and New England Central, among others. For example, I work for a food distributor, and part of our warehouse dates to the 1940s to 50s. There is a rail siding to this portion, but I can't imagine any of our inbound freight arriving via nothing but truck. Concerning short-line local railroads, is the cost of shipping via rail as competitive as truck?
  by BR&P

To help understand the rail freight system thing of runners in a relay race, where the baton is handed off from one to another. Thing of rail cars being that baton, and different railroads as the runners. A car of widgets is loaded in California, and BNSF takes it to Chicago. They hand it off to CSX who then hands it off to P&W for final delivery to you in CT.

Think of all the millions of combinations to and from all the sidings in the nation. It's impossible to make a blanket statement of what is cost-effective or not. In general rail is more cost effective on long hauls of many hundred miles while trucks generally are better on short hauls. *BUT* there are quite a few examples where very short rail moves ARE working, sometimes as short a a couple miles. There are so many variables.