• Commuter Rail cab car: what kind of car is this?

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by astrosa

Go here and look up the 1600-series cars.

by astrosa

Edit: why did the previous post just disappear?

Yes, these cars are closely related to the Comet I and II owned by NJ Transit.

As for the horns, first of all they only have 3 chimes. I'm not a horn expert, but judging from the mounting bracket and the length of the bells, it looks like this is most likely a Nathan K3 (all bells forward). This makes sense because the MBTA diesels use a K5 with all bells forward. And yes, like most of the MBTA's air horns, these do have the "snow cones" covering the bells.

by CSX Conductor

Just curios as to whether or not the original poster knows the location of the photo? I think it looks like the shot was taken from the Revere Street overhead bridge in Revere looking North.

by WonderlandMan

Being from Revere, I agree with CSX Conductor on that call. I pass that bridge almost daily, surprised I didnt notice it before it was mentioned..

by One of One-Sixty

astrosa wrote:Edit: why did the previous post just disappear?

Yes, these cars are closely related to the Comet I and II owned by NJ Transit.

As for the horns, first of all they only have 3 chimes. I'm not a horn expert, but judging from the mounting bracket and the length of the bells, it looks like this is most likely a Nathan K3 (all bells forward). This makes sense because the MBTA diesels use a K5 with all bells forward. And yes, like most of the MBTA's air horns, these do have the "snow cones" covering the bells.
I was trying to edit my post to add something and accidently hit delete. Thats what I get for doing too many things at once.

Are Blind Trailer Coaches just regular coaches, how does that work?