• Why is being a railfan considered weird?

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

by B&Mguy

I've been photographing old train stations in my region for about 10 years now. It's been a very interesting hobby that has taught me a lot, and that I am passionate about as well. This is just one of many hobbies for me. I hike, mountain bike, kayak, read, write, and enjoy watching sports. I also have a very active social life, and have had several girlfriends.

For some reason, I'm a little hesitant to tell people about my station photography because I feel like I'd be lumped into what the common conception of a railfan is. (socially awkward, obsessed with trains, can't get a girlfriend).

Why is liking trains considered to be so strange? For me it's one of many hobbies, and it doesn't define who I am. Also, for any railfans reading this, do you keep your railfan hobby quite to avoid being lumped in with the crazy ones?
  by 3rdrail

B&Mguy wrote:For some reason, I'm a little hesitant to tell people about my station photography because I feel like I'd be lumped into what the common conception of a railfan is. (socially awkward, obsessed with trains, can't get a girlfriend).

Why is liking trains considered to be so strange? For me it's one of many hobbies, and it doesn't define who I am. Also, for any railfans reading this, do you keep your railfan hobby quite to avoid being lumped in with the crazy ones?