• Where can I get promoted to hogger?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by rail

Here is my problem. I currently work for CN. I want to get promoted to engineer. CN does not promote from within they hire from other railroads. I was wondering if there were any railroads that will be short engineers in the near future. So that if I hire out I will not be a conductor for long and will get promotion. I have 3 years experience on the ground.

by CSX Conductor

CSXT will only hire within, but by seniority basis (oldest per terminal each time they call a class to school). However, they tend not to hire "professional-hires". Also, as you may be expecting already, you will start out as a new man on the bottom of the roster. :wink:
  by CSX-COAL HAULER

Were you not told about their procedures before you hired out????? :( You don't get to run any over there? I thought that the CN was a good comany to work for????? What is your family status like--married-kids?

CSX has been advertising on the employee web site for conductor help at several ---I said several locations. They pay $750.00 a month housing allowance or put you up in a motel at home terminal and pay for all away from home terminal lodging. They give you $12.00 for meals for every day worked-plus any money your allowed to claim for job. They pay your mileage to and from the transfer location 1 time.

Plus they give you $5,000.00 for a six month stay plus all normal pay.

If I had no senority and no family---this is what I would be doing for a couple of years----to make time past faster.
  by ENR3870