• Thinking about applying with BNSF

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by Interceptor

Well, I'm a 25 year old male. I've been a police officer for two years and I'm starting to get a little burned on the job. It's one of the most thankless jobs a person could ever do. Some days I love it and other days it's a pain.

My brother's buddy was recently hired by BNSF as a conductor trainee and he is loving it. My grandfather was also a conducter when it was the Great Northern railroad. I've looked things over and it seems like it could be a pretty decent career. The pay is good and the benefits appear to be outstanding.

Do you think I have a chance and is it worth it? LOL

Thanks

by freshmeat

I'll chime in first.

The job of conductor, like any other job, has its moments. Since you are coming from a RR family, you already know about the pros and cons of RR life. Make no mistake, this is a lifestyle change, not just a change in jobs.

I came to the RR from the legal profession. Prior to entering the law, I worked in aircraft machine shops and truely enjoyed working for a living. After four years in the law, I found that I could hardly drag myself out of bed to face the legal system. Therefore, when the opportunity to go to work for the BNSF as a conductor trainee presented itself, I jumped at it. I find I actually enjoy working at an honest job for a living, rather then preying off of people's misfortunes in life.