• q's about train service with UP out of boone, ia

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by diesel

can anyone explain the pay scale of a conductor to me? when i asked in our interview session all i got was "as far as hourly pay a conductor probably couldn't even tell you, but you start at 75% and go up 5% yrly. to 100%. ok? 75% of what?

i'm a tire builder for a large ag tire co. in des moines. i work on incentives
but i sure could tell anyone who asked how much i made per hr. or day.
my main concern is this. i made 92k last yr. at a 60k ave. paying job.
the only reason i applied for UP is the manufacturing jobs WILL NOT be here Long. please somone help me understand what I can look forward to making yr. 1 to yr. 5. there has got to be something in your union contract. please help me. :P I'm suppose to start conductor classes Aug. 14th. much appretiated!

by UPRR engineer

A yard job RCL forman pay $189ish at %100.
A 130 miles mainline run maybe $165ish at %80 maybe.

Theres not really a rate of pay per hour unless your in the yard or on a local, and those are concidered 100 mile job, but the yard pays at hire rate then a local. Mainline runs are paid by the mile, or from terminal to terminal, the longer the run the more money. I think conductors also get paid by how many cars are in the train. Aslo if your run is 300 miles or so lets say, you will have to be on duty for like 16 hours before you start getting any more money, "run off your miles" is whats it called. I've never been threw freight so i really dont have any idea how much your gonna make, the 40 to 70 thousand, thats really about all i can say also.