• Which branch: Far Rock, Hempstead, West Hempstead, or OB?

• Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.
Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

by tun

Got Wednesday off so I'm gonna take advantage of the weekday schedule and my zone 4 monthly and do some railfanning/photographing.

I don't want to pay any extra, so I'm limiting myself to zone 4. I live on the PW line so that's out. That leaves the other 3 branches listed in the topic and the OB branch up until East Williston. I have never ridden the diesel equipment, so that's one thing in favor of the OB branch. I do remember passing by the Hempstead branch around Stewart Manor and Nassau Blvd. and I remember liking the area around there. I have no experience whatsoever with Far Rock and West Hempstead. Any recommendations? I don't mind walking reasonable distances from stations to areas along the right of way.

Things that I'm looking for in no particular order
-Interesting rail infrastructure
-Equipment variety
-Suburban scenic beauty/appeal (if applicable)
-Urban scenic beauty/appeal (if applicable)
-Unobstructed views (for photography)
  by commuterjoe