Discussion related to commuter rail and rapid transit operations in the Chicago area including the South Shore Line, Metra Rail, and Chicago Transit Authority.

Moderators: metraRI, JamesT4

by MikeF

The wire over IRM's main line is mostly simple or compound catenary. Pantograph-equipped cars are very seldom run at IRM because the rest of the wire there is "fishing line" unsuited for pans.
  by BAM

I was a student at ND from 1960-1965 so, yes, I have memories of the Orange Cars. For us students it was just about the only way to get to Chicago. Back then the South Shore station was at the corner of N. Michigan and W. LaSalle right across from the LaSalle Hotel. I can see from Google Maps that that whole landscape has changed. IIRC, the train started out as one car (or maybe two?), adding a couple of cars in Michigan City. The car from South Bend was always one of the modernized cars. It had two compartments, one smoking and one non-smoking separated by a swinging glass door. The windows didn't open so I'm guessing these cars must have been air-conditioned.

I come from a railroading family (New Haven) and have always had an interest in railroading. Since graduating from ND in 1965 I haven't ridden on the South Shore but I do have good intentions and will do the round-trip from Chicago to SB someday. I was in Chicago two years ago and made it down to the Van Buren St station and got some pictures of a South Shore outbound train.

Oh, and I have a stash of CSS&SB wooden lead pencils (never used!) that I think must go back to the 1960s or 1970s. I'm guessing that a freight sales rep gave them to my father who was Agent, Freight Terminals for the NH in Boston back in the late 50s, 60s, early 70s
  by dinwitty