• Silverliner Vs Out of Service - Technical Topics

• Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.
Discussion relating to Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority (Philadelphia Metro Area). Official web site can be found here: www.septa.com. Also including discussion related to the PATCO Speedline rapid transit operated by Delaware River Port Authority. Official web site can be found here: http://www.ridepatco.org/.

Moderator: AlexC

by fishtruk

I'm a hack welder. Lately I'm learning tig so I may not have to send molds out the laser $$$ shop. As an engineer who grew up machining solids, good welders are respected. Honestly, although we need them, we looked down on sheet metal guys. My bad.

Could you consider an equalizer sheet metal with a couple weldments on the ends? I still think cast and forge.
  by bikentransit

Before everyone pats SEPTIC on the back for looking out for public safety, it's not like they had a choice. Had they kept the cars in service and an accident happened, those in charge would be facing jail time.
  by Bill R.

It's obvious that diversity of modal options, as identified in this post by Michael Noda, is - to some degree - keeping regional mobility afloat in the midst of a potential quagmire.

In a (tongue in cheek) extrapolation of that fact, I'd like to offer the following for consideration (by all of the members out there who love fantasy) of how much easier the current situation might have been:

Subway Surface system expansion
  by ekt8750