Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

by Joe Greenstein

This is an invitation to participate in an exciting new project.
I am a rail writer/photographer and I’m working on an article on the Long Island Rail Road for one of the major rail magazines.
I’m very interested in communicating with:
-Anyone who commutes on LIRR on a regular basis.
-Anyone who works for, or has worked for, LIRR.
Please contact me and I’ll get back to you with the details. I need your input to make this article a success.
Many thanks.

by Clemuel

Joe,

I'm sure you know that the Railroad's rules prohibit employees from giving statements to writers.

Timing is everything. While I'm aware you've written dozens of articles in trade and fan magazines, employees may be a bit suspect these days.

Last week, a writer from one daily Chicage-based newspaper was attempting to prepare an article on behalf of the MTA to lobby for pension and Railroad Retirement reforms (reduction and elimination). He has approached several employees and retirees and has been ejected from the property several times.

Because of this, be forewarned that the welcome you receive around the LIRR may less than friendly.

Clem
Last edited by Clemuel on Sun Mar 20, 2005 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by emfinite

Joe,

I have enjoyed your articles in Trains and RailNews magazines. The featured cab unit article in RailNews was very fascinating with excellent photographic illustrations. Good luck on future articles!

Joe
  by ncvab

Joe Greenstein wrote:This is an invitation to participate in an exciting new project. I need your input to make this article a success.
Many thanks.
You're a professional writer.
Last edited by ncvab on Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by Lupo 10

Joe,