• Palomar telescope mirror train?

• Discussion relating to the NYC and subsidiaries, up to 1968. Visit the NYCS Historical Society for more information.
Discussion relating to the NYC and subsidiaries, up to 1968. Visit the NYCS Historical Society for more information.

Moderator: Otto Vondrak

by mconsidine

Hi,
I am an amateur astronomer who is interested in
creating a model display of a very specific set of cars - namely the 5 car train that transported the mirror to be used in a telescope from Corning, NY to Pasadena, CA in 1936.

To create an accurate display, I'd like to figure out as
closely as I possibly can what the cars used in the caravan
were.

The problem I am having is that I have only a few
photographs of the train and no source for any specifics.

In searching the 'net I came across Mr. Leonard's excellent website. He suggested posting my question here, that being : does anyone know what the specific car models were? For convenience, I have posted the links to the CalTech pictures below :

Photo showing the full train :
Click Here

Photo showing the (specially made?) wellhole car :
Click Here

(There are a few other images on that website, but these two basically identify what I am looking for...)

Does anyone here have any thoughts or specific knowledge as to the railcars used? I'd be very appreciative to here any ideas or suggestions for information sources (fwiw, I've already searched these archives...)

Regards,
Matt Considine

by NYC_Dave

The car number 499010 can be seen in one of the photos. The following information can be found in the NYC freight car roster on the Canada Southern website http://www.canadasouthern.com/caso/photo.htm
Lot no. 273-F
Built SSC-1912 (Don't know what company SSC is.)
5 cars built, 499010-499014, ex NYC&HR
37'-6" all steel well car
60 ton capacity
service 1912-1964

by NYC_Dave