• Original Construction Details - MEC

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

by kbellis

Hello,

I've done a search on this forum, but was unable to find any information pertaining to original construction details, and in particular, I'm interested in learning about the original practices done in the surveying and laying out of the railroad and what procedures were typical in marking the PCs, PCCs and PTs. The railroad in question is the Calais Branch of the Maine Central in Hancock and Washington Counties.

As a Professional Land Surveyor I've had the distinct pleasure during the past 20 plus years of surveying along the Calais Branch and have routinely found steel-reinforced concrete monuments above grade or flush with grade between the ties. On the spur that ran to Hancock Point (Maine Shore Line Railroad), where the ties and rails were removed years ago, I've been amazed to find pristine tapered steel-reinforced concrete monuments a foot or more below the surface of the rail bed. Now with the scheduled demise of the rails and ties between Washington Junction and Ayers Junction, I'm concerned about the loss of monumentation and want to learn more about what typically was done at the onset of the original construction to possibly help in its preservation today. I've posted the some photos on Google Map showing the present conditions along the portions already demolished.

Thank you very much for anybody able to point of specific documents and references.

Kelly Bellis
  by kbellis

Okay, I admit my question is pretty arcane and since nobody here can answer the question pertaining to original surveying practices, does anybody here know a better place to seek these answers to such mysterious questions? Or am I in the wrong forum?

Thank you very much for any help.

Kelly
  by CarterB