• Late 40's Beacon, NY operations

• Discussion relating to the NH and its subsidiaries (NYW&B, Union Freight Railroad, Connecticut Company, steamship lines, etc.). up until its 1969 inclusion into the Penn Central merger. This forum is also for the discussion of efforts to preserve former New Haven equipment, artifacts and its history. You may also wish to visit www.nhrhta.org for more information.
Discussion relating to the NH and its subsidiaries (NYW&B, Union Freight Railroad, Connecticut Company, steamship lines, etc.). up until its 1969 inclusion into the Penn Central merger. This forum is also for the discussion of efforts to preserve former New Haven equipment, artifacts and its history. You may also wish to visit www.nhrhta.org for more information.
  by Yankee77

Hello,
I'm a New York Central modeler, and eventually I hope to be able to include Beacon, NY on my layout. I model the late 1940's, and I would like to find out some information about the New Haven operations around Beacon. Several years ago, on one of the older versions of this forum, I posted a similar question, and got some great information. But I must not have saved it, because I can't find any of it now.

I'd like to know the following:
-What type of engines did the NH use for Beacon service? I think I remember someone telling me RS-1's, but I don't remember what type of steam might have been used before the RS-1's showed up.

-What kind of traffic did the NH move in and out of Beacon? I know there was an interchange yard with the NYC, and also a pier in which the NH received iron ingots (?) from barges.

-Any other tidbits of information that might be of interest.

Thanks for any help on this,
Brian.
  by Noel Weaver

I think the most likely power to be found on the Beacon Branch in the days of steam would have been K class moguls and in the diesel era, the
most likely unit would have to be a 0900 or 0600 class Alco switchers.