• Do I have what it takes....?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by SanAntoniostang

Ok guys Im just wondering what my chances are with getting hired out and if I have what UP is looking for.

A little about my self I am 23 years old and have about 70hrs of college towards a buisness management degree. I currently work as a hot shot contractor and have done so for the past 4 1/2 years. During this time I have worked 6 days a week for an average of 70hrs a week. In the last 5 years I have only missed 3 days of work. Never been late for work never called in sick and never had a vacation. The days I did miss were for family emergencies. My job before this I worked a year in plumbing and from the time I was 17 till 19 I worked at a diesel mechanic shop that did work on 18 wheelers. In the past 3 years I have driven over 300k miles with out a ticket or accident and Im an avid hunter and fisherman so I practice lots of safety as I lead a youth group and take small groups of young children hunting and fishing several times a year( hey I wish someone did it for me when I was younger so thats why I do it know) So am I the kind of guy UP is looking for. Also can anyone give me any info on the physical and strength test they perform. Some times I get nervous and my blood pressure goes up will this be a problem.

by cifn2

you sound kinda like myself, 23, looking into the railroad, no major health problems, and looking at UP. I wish you the best of luck, sorry I can't answer your questions, but I wish you best of luck. I am still waiting to hear back from them as I applied back in Jan, job still has yet to close.

by SanAntoniostang