• Danbury freight operations

• Discussion relating to the NH and its subsidiaries (NYW&B, Union Freight Railroad, Connecticut Company, steamship lines, etc.). up until its 1969 inclusion into the Penn Central merger. This forum is also for the discussion of efforts to preserve former New Haven equipment, artifacts and its history. You may also wish to visit www.nhrhta.org for more information.
Discussion relating to the NH and its subsidiaries (NYW&B, Union Freight Railroad, Connecticut Company, steamship lines, etc.). up until its 1969 inclusion into the Penn Central merger. This forum is also for the discussion of efforts to preserve former New Haven equipment, artifacts and its history. You may also wish to visit www.nhrhta.org for more information.
  by Johnny F

I'm somewhat new to the New Haven and have a question about operations in Danbury. The yard, from what I've seen in old photos, appeared to be a large team yard, with access driveways and a freighthouse. Were freights ever classifed from Danbury, or in other words, was Danbury ever the point of origin of any freight trains? Thanks in advance.
  by cnefan

There were several freight trains originating and terminating in Danbury through the years; up the Berkshire Line, up the Shepaug Line, down to the Harlem River Terminal in the Bronx, etc. Give me the era in which you are interested in and I can list the trains based on New Haven RR freight schedule booklets that I have in my collection.

Leroy Beaujon (former NH RR employee)
Roseville, CA

by Johnny F

Thanks for the reply. I'm not interested in any particular period, but let's see what the 1940s looked like. Was there a lot of local industry in Danbury? I remember reading about the hat factories. The yard just doesn't look like a classification yard, I'm a little surprised to hear that they dispatched freights. Also, was there ever an "industrial district" near the yard with industrial sidings or just the team yard. Again, thanks in advance.