• Auto Racks

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

by gprimr1

Do Auto Racks require specific equipment to load/unload? If they don't, would it be possible for dealerships close to the rails to take delivery of a few Auto-racks and perhaps reduce freight costs?

by CSX-COAL HAULER

The loading of auto racks has been perfected. I am not a expert but have spotted cars for Nissan and Saturn plants in Nashville. We spotted about 60 auto racks up in 4 different tracks---you would spot 5 cars on special marks leave a 300 foot gap---spot 5 more cars up----leave a 300 ft gap and then go to the next track and do the same. The tracks were in the middle of a huge asphalt parking lot----there is not ballast!

When I say the loading of auto racks has been perfected I mean--these guys can load a whole track (about 15 auto racks) in about 2 hours or so.
Most bi-level racks hold 8 cars--so thats 120 cars loaded in over 2 hours.

They set ramps up on one side of the five cars and ramps between the cars and then they start driving the hell out of them. As fast as they can they-drive up-spot it-park it--jump out and get in a van with 10-12 other
people and the van takes them back to where the cars are ready for pick
up-----it is a sight to see. Hope this helps!

by gprimr1

You don't happen to work in the Baltimore Terminal Division do you? The scene you described looks alot like something one sees from southbound I-895. You don't have to answer that.

Does anyone think it would be practical or cost effective for a dealership to take delivery by racks and not by truck?

by scharnhorst

gprimr1 wrote:You don't happen to work in the Baltimore Terminal Division do you? The scene you described looks alot like something one sees from southbound I-895. You don't have to answer that.