• New to airbrushing. Which paints to use?

• Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.
Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.

Moderators: 3rdrail, stilson4283, Otto Vondrak

by Kevin B.

I'm new to this airbrush thing, but I'm trying to get into it. I was just wondering what paints you guys use on your models and why. Thanks for your input. Kevin

by WANF-11--->Chaser

I'd also like to know too.

I have a NJ Custom N6A transfer caboose coming soon and will be painting it Conrail Blue.

Should I prime it? Not prime it? What is a good brand paint to use on brass?

by bentnosewillie

I use acrylics almost exclusuively because they're fast-drying, easy to thin and clean up, and nontoxic. My brand of choice is Polly Scale, mainly because the local shop carries the largest variety of railroad colours in this brand. I have also used Testors, Modelflex and Tamiya acrylics with good results.

Polly Scale works best for me when thinned with Polly S Airbrush Thinner, but when a bottle of Polly Scale gets to a certain age it reacts poorly to this thinner - at that point I switch to distilled water to use up the bottle.