• Business Class Loses Access to Chicago Met Lounge

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by NaugyRR

This came up on my news feed for today, from Trains News Wire...

Fair Use:
Amtrak business-class passengers no longer receive free admission to Chicago Union Station’s Metropolitan Lounge, although a $35 day pass is available.
The change became effective Oct. 1 — in part, Amtrak spokesman Marc Magliari tells Trains News Wire, because “the new Amtrak Midwest railcars have significantly more seats in business class than we’ve been offering on the Amtrak Midwest network.”
https://www.trains.com/trn/news-reviews ... assengers/

I've never used this lounge before, but I know the ones here on the NEC are limited to First Class Acela and Sleeper customers. I'd be a little miffed if I was a regular Business rider out of Chicago though; I don't quite buy into the whole blame the Venture cars capacity logic. I guess if you ride often enough and have the pay-per-year Amtrak credit card you're probably getting enough points to qualify for lounge access anyways, but I know if the Moynihan Lounge pulled the plug on Acela First Class passengers I would be pissed if I had to resort to using my card privileges for those trips the once or twice a year I take them.
  by jbvb

It's been many, many years since I connected at CUS in coach, long enough that I recall using 25 cent lockers to stash my backpack while railfanning. Amtrak could probably make many friends by either making CUS connections tighter (dream on) or offering more support to all customers with multi-hour waits.
  by eolesen

Lounge overcrowding and limiting access seems to be an issue with Amtrak as well as airlines.

$35 for a day pass? No thanks. Lounges are only worth it if you have nowhere better to be prior to departure.