• Cars uncouple from Adirondack while moving

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by Hudson2640

A P32 and a single car were added to the front of the train. The disconnect was between that first and second car. My money is on a defective draw bar.
  by DutchRailnut

the drawbar or coupler did not fail , it just uncoupled.
  by DutchRailnut

yes but not revealing them as it would target employee.
  by Jeff Smith

Yes, thanks Jaap.

It appears some of the details given out by the media are incorrect. We certainly appreciate the correct information.

On another note, didn’t I see somewhere that Amtrak was running engines on each end due to work at Sunnyside?
  by STrRedWolf

Okay, catch me up on one thing, since I'm new to how the engines are swapped in Albany (plus the last time I was there was 1998). When a train goes to swap engines, the old one is taken off, moved to the side, and the new one (that's been waiting ahead of the station) coupled on, taking 35 minutes to do, correct?

And there was no trailing engine on that train that was generating *some* power? (Nope, CBS New York reports lights/heat dropped, so HEP was on the forward engine)

If that's so, then I'm with everyone puzzled over how no-HEP/no-air coaches didn't slam on the emergency brakes when the train detached. We can clearly assume there was a brake problem on the remaining coaches.

The only way to rule out somebody FUBAR'ing the swap is to ask, was the Adirondack running late into Albany?
  by Railjunkie