• New Midwest/California Bi-Level Discussion

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by bostontrainguy

Okay, I am not an engineer and don't know what I am talking about, but . . .

The Nippon Sharyo car body was almost there. The car survived 798,000 lbs compression - so very close to the required 800,000 lbs.

So is it a simple matter of increasing the strength of the structural members slightly? If the main structural supports of the car are made just slightly thicker, is that adequate? Would that be all that's necessary?

Why was this an insurmountable problem for NS? I believe someone said that the new Metro North cars initially failed their first test. Isn't that the purpose of a test? To see what happens and then remedy it?

I'm just thinking out loud here. I am so mystified by this whole situation.
  by mtuandrew

Exactly, bostontrainguy. I'm not an engineer either (though I know several), but this sounds more like a financial decision than a technical one. Otherwise, how would Nippon Sharyo not be able to do what Budd, then P-S, then Bombardier, then Alstom (twice!) did to build similar designs with only moderately more progressive requirements?

One does not simply give up on a contract for several hundred railcars.
  by east point

Some of us have a suspicion that there is more to the crush failure than just a few thousand pounds short of 800,000. Could it be that the failure did not meet the FRA requirements for gradual failure but was catastrophic ?
  by Backshophoss

Figure on some officials at Rochelle and at the HQ in Japan doing the resign (fall on sword) routine shortly.
Since Seimens is now the "contractor of record",would like to see how the trap(stairs)issue is handled now.
And how fast production at Sacramento starts to ramp up!