• Generator cars in NYP

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by ajp

if working diesel engines are not allowed in the North River tunnels and NYP,
how did they have generator cars to supply HEP to Amfleet cars and the Budd Keystone experimental car set set pulled by GG1's?
  by n2cbo

I worked as a travelling electrician for Amtrak during that period while I was in college. The diesel power cars WERE operated within the tunnels and Penn Station. They were relatively small engines and did not generate anywhere near as much exhaust fumes as a prime mover would. Later on, the GG1 was modified for HEP, and some of the E-60's were equipped with HEP (although on the E-60 the HEP would need to be reset quite often.
  by Gilbert B Norman

Mr. Cbo, no G was modified for HEP, most E-60's 20 of 'em as I recall, we're delivered with HEP.

Back in those days, you know better than I, that HEP whether from a 13XX Power Car or an E, left much to be desired regarding reliability.
  by MACTRAXX

n2cbo wrote:I worked as a travelling electrician for Amtrak during that period while I was in college. The diesel power cars WERE operated within the tunnels and Penn Station. They were relatively small engines and did not generate anywhere near as much exhaust fumes as a prime mover would. Later on, the GG1 was modified for HEP, and some of the E-60's were equipped with HEP (although on the E-60 the HEP would need to be reset quite often.
N2CBO and Everyone:

Amtrak used 690 series power cars to provide HEP for Amfleet cars in NEC service back when they were new and
they were to be hauled by a non-HEP equipped locomotive - GG1s or one of the few E60s that did not have HEP
capability. These cars - which were former short baggage cars at around 50 feet long (690-699?) were used until