Railroad Forums 

• B32-8 vs. Dash 8-32B

• Discussion of General Electric locomotive technology. Current official information can be found here: www.getransportation.com.
Discussion of General Electric locomotive technology. Current official information can be found here: www.getransportation.com.

Moderators: MEC407, AMTK84

#8463  by BN7151

My copy of "Field Guide to Modern Diesel Locomotives" states that the B32-8 and the Dash 8-32B are two separate types. Is there any major difference between them?

#8500  by AMTK84

Guessing from all the stuff said about the AC6000CW's verces CW60AC's, my guess is there is nothing different - just what the different railroads call them.

For example you could call a P42DC a DC42P and it would hopefully be the same thing. Keep in mind I am no GE expert! :)

#8522  by trainiac

The B32-8 and Dash 8-32B are the same. They're just an example of the model name mix-up of post Dash-8 GEs. However, if your thinking of the B32-8 vs Dash 8-32BWH, then they're different--the latter is an Amtrak passenger version with at least five names that I can think of.
 #8762  by Allen Hazen

Actually, there were two different models...
The original B32-8 were three test/demonstrator units, GE-owned but painted in BN green, built in 1984 (since retired and I think scrapped). These had the original Dash-8 styling: curved cab roof, very "busy" long hood appearance (with step in the side like Dash-7 units).
The later B32-8/Dash-8 32B built in 1989 (45 for NS, 1 GE test/demonstrator unit) had the cleaned-up styling introduced (on the B39-8E) in late 1986: flat-topped cab, no step in hood side (new, air-cooled, air compressor eliminated the motove for it), grid below radiator wingspan slanting out.