Railroad Forums 

• Metro RFP for tunnel light project

• Discussion related to DC area passenger rail services from Northern Virginia to Baltimore, MD. Includes Light Rail and Baltimore Subway.
Discussion related to DC area passenger rail services from Northern Virginia to Baltimore, MD. Includes Light Rail and Baltimore Subway.

Moderators: mtuandrew, therock, Robert Paniagua

#1381021  by JDC

Missed this RFP from back in February - Metro is asking for bids for replacement of tunnel lights. http://www.wmata.com/business/procureme ... on_id=3436. Interestingly, the March 1 update clarifies that LED is not an option because Metro engineers have not yet determined how feasible that is for the system. I'm no expert, but that seems like a relatively simple thing to determine....and should have been in advance of the proposal.
 #1381030  by Sand Box John

"JDC"
Interestingly, the March 1 update clarifies that LED is not an option because Metro engineers have not yet determined how feasible that is for the system. I'm no expert, but that seems like a relatively simple thing to determine....and should have been in advance of the proposal.

LED luminary come in two flavors, those that require a ballast and those that don't. The florescent replacements that I have seen need no ballast.

There also is the issue of the lights being on 24 / 7 / 365. The only LED luminary being used under those conditions that I know of are the ones used in some stations and those fixtures are different then the tunnel florescent fixtures enclosures.
 #1381176  by MCL1981

It's 2016. And WMATA wants to install 16,000 florescent lights in their tunnels. And they claim they want to do this to reduce energy consumption... by using 224,000 watts worth of florescent tubes. LEDs would be more durable, they rarely burn out, and they use less than half the energy. As usual, WMATA is in their own way.