Railroad Forums 

• Military to Amtrak Passenger Engineer

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1430929  by Army4772

This is my first post on railroad.net ... I am currently an Officer in the Army with 14 years of service. Therefore I will be eligible to retire in in 6 years (Jan 2024). I have a Master's Degree in Public Administration and a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science. I have also done multiple deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan. As an officer, I am a planner... So, I have been exploring careers that I can transition to upon my retirement. I am interested in a career with Amtrak as a Passenger Engineer. I am a father of 5 and will be 46 yo when I retire. I plan on retiring in the Wash DC area.

I understand that, if I were to be hired, I would start at the low end of the totem pole (seniority). I also understand that the hours are varied and the schedule is unpredictable. Lastly, I understand that with a large family I will not be able to participate in many activities (sporting events, school events, some holidays, etc) as I begin this new career. Having said that, I have the following questions:

- Is there anything I can do over the next 6 years of my career to increase the likelihood of being hired when I retire (schooling, etc)?
- Will my age be a limiting factor in getting hired?
- What do routes for new hires look like out of the DC Area? While I don't mind an unpredictable schedule, I would rather not be away overnight if possible.
- Do DC routes all initiate out of Union Station? i.e. Would that be where I would start and finish my day?