Railroad Forums 

• Via corridor trip

• Tell us where you were and what you saw!
Tell us where you were and what you saw!

Moderator: David Benton

#420711  by LStJ&StL

While I am a life-long Michigan resident, I have been riding Via’s Ontario-Quebec corridor now for more than a quarter century. The weekend of July 5-8 brought me back to the corridor for a round trip between Windsor and Kingston, Ontario, marking my first trip to eastern Ontario in six years and the first time I have made the trip by train with my children, ages eight and five.

I have to give high marks to Via’s on board service crews. They were especially helpful with our little boys, joking with them, talking to them about their favorite hockey players and patiently counting out change when they bought snacks. The service provided by Via reflects what we have experienced on Amtrak as well- and leads me to conclude that railroaders are a kid-friendly bunch.

My wife and our boys departed Windsor on train 72 on July 5 and enjoyed a comfortable ride in facing seats at the end of an LRC coach. The riding qualities and big windows of LRC equipment have always been a plus, although the interiors, having now seen a quarter century of service, are starting to look a bit shopworn. We sat through a delay of about 20 minutes just west of Chatham as we waited for a Canadian Pacific freight to clear, but we made up some time and arrived in Toronto about 15 minutes down. Crew members provided the kids with some folding cardboard models of a VIA P42 and a Renaissance sleeper and coach, and the guys had fun playing trains while on the train.