Railroad Forums 

• Positive Train Control Myths and Facts

• General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment
General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

#759460  by NellieBly

Now that installation of PTC is mandated by Federal law, I continue to be surprised by the lack of knowledge (even among railfans) about what it is and what it does. in part, I think, this is because FRA chose to write a functional specification rather than a prescriptive regulation -- there are several different ways of meeting the statutory requirements. I'll attempt to briefly summarize a complex topic (I've been working on PTC-related issues on and off since 1988).

1) PTC is required by statute on all tracks carrying more than 5 MGT of freight traffic, on all tracks carrying passenger trains -- with some exceptions -- and on all tracks over which any volume of TIH is moved. The statute only covers Class I railroads; Class II and Class III carriers are exempted, and passenger trains operating on those carriers may also be exempted, on an individual basis, by the Secretary of Transportation.